Some American Stand Up Reviewed by Anita

I’ve been feeling routine with my viewing lately so I decided to switch it up a notch. I randomly looked up Stand Up and I’m happy to say Amazon Prime was there for me. If you’re tired of the same ol’ genera and stuck in a bit of a rut I hope you look up some of these guys. I promise you’re gonna bust a gut!

Ron White: *****
He’s a riot. Know up front this guy is not for the kids or maybe the in-laws either come to think of it. However if you’re sitting around tossing back a few he is the party. He’s best known for being a character member with Blue Collar Tour but he’s great solo. I love his nickname “Tatar Salad” and when you learn how he got it you will fall over laughing. If you get a chance and want to sample him, catch I Got Thrown Out of a Bar stand up 12-05-2011.

George Carlin: (05-12-1937 to 06-22-2008) *****
This man was a genius when it comes to the craft of comedy. He was actor, author, and social critic. Famous for his black comedy style, his stand up is littered with reflections on politics, the English language, views on psychology, religion and various taboo subjects, that even today’s comedian is careful about bringing up. George was even in one of my all time favorite movies from the late 80’s Bill & Ted’s Excellent Adventure. Carlin is a legend, if you haven’t seen him don’t wait any longer. OH! Another guy who is not for kids. Pretty snarky and graphic.

Jim Gaffigan: ***
Jim is a hoot. Actor/writer most of his material is stuff about fatherhood, observations and laziness. I really get a kick out of his food routines, especially the one about Hot Pockets and McDonalds. You will snort food up your nose. One thing about Gaffigan that annoys me is this little voice he does as if out of person observation. At first it’s funny, and it does serve a purpose in keeping things at a certain pace, however, it bugs me after awhile. And he can be a downer. A Gaffigan routine is family friendly.

Jeff Durman: ****
Durman is a bit different from the comedians I’ve talked about thus far. Jeff is a ventriloquist. He’s been on numerous TV shows such as Late Night with David Letterman and Comedy Central stuff. I’ve seen him personally in Sacramento. He was worth the line. Jeff’s stand up is interactive with some of the most outrageous puppets on the planet. When you mention Durman most everybody knows Achmed the Dead Terrorist, Bubba J who is just what you think you will meet at a NASCAR race, and Jose Jalapeno On a Stick is the funniest Mexican I’ve ever met. Trust me I’d know – I’m half Mexican. Love grouchy Walter, the old man with a chip on his shoulder. Of course there is Peanut, his ‘I don’t know what he is’ guy that always makes me LMAO kind of funny. Jeff is pretty current and his stuff is usually family friendly. Check out his Speak of Insanity 2007 for an introduction to his stuff.

Give some of these guys a viewing. There are lots of greats you can choose from these are just a few I watched while doing my laundry. Made folding more fun.

This entry was posted in C, TV, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment